Congressman Castro Returns to Iowa for Latino Heritage Festival, Volunteer Canvass Kickoff and Webster County Democrats Pork Chop Dinner

SAN ANTONIO, TX (September 25, 2019) – On Sunday, U.S. Congressman Joaquin Castro of Texas, Julián for the Future campaign chairman and chairman of the Congressional Hispanic Caucus, will travel to Iowa for a series of events.

Congressman Castro, vice chairman of the House Foreign Affairs Committee and a member of the House Intelligence Committee and Committee on Education and Labor, will speak at the Latino Heritage Festival Soapbox in Des Moines, join supporters and volunteers for a canvass kickoff in Des Moines, and speak at the Webster County Democrats Pork Chop Dinner.

This is Congressman Castro’s second trip to Iowa on behalf of his brother, presidential candidate Julián Castro, the former Obama Secretary of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) and Mayor of San Antonio, Texas.

Last week, Secretary Castro was in Iowa for his 12th trip as a presidential candidate to attend a student-led climate change forum, LGBTQ Forum, the Polk County Democrats Steak Fry, to support striking McDonald’s workers fighting for a $15 minimum wage, and for a sit-down conversation with farmers in rural Iowa.

The following events are open to the press. Media interested in attending events should RSVP here.

Sunday, September 29, 2019

LATINO HERITAGE FESTIVAL SOAPBOX

WHAT: Congressman Castro will speak on behalf of his brother, Secretary Julián Castro, at the Latino Heritage Festival Soapbox in Des Moines, which draws thousands of attendees every year and is one of the biggest festivals in the state.

WHERE: Western Gateway Park, 1330 Grand Ave., Des Moines, IA 50309

WHEN: Sunday, September 29, 2019, 1:00 PM CT/2:00 PM ET

WHO: Congressman Castro, festival attendees

Media interested in attending should RSVP here.

VOLUNTEER CANVASS KICKOFF

WHAT: Congressman Castro will join supporters and volunteers from Polk County for a canvass kickoff. He will greet volunteers before they head out to knock on doors.

WHERE: 2000 SE 6th St., Des Moines, IA 50309

WHEN: Sunday, September 29, 2019, 2:00 PM CT/3:00 PM ET

WHO: Congressman Castro, volunteers

Media interested in attending should RSVP here.

WEBSTER COUNTY DEMOCRATS PORK CHOP DINNER

WHAT: Congressman Castro will speak at the annual Pork Chop Dinner Fundraiser hosted by the Webster County Democrats.

WHERE: Lizard Creek Ranch, 1762 Johnson Ave., Fort Dodge, Iowa

WHEN: Sunday, September 29, 2019, 5:00 PM CT/6:00 PM ET

WHO: Congressman Castro, U.S. Senator Tom Carper, Webster County Democrats

Media interested in attending should RSVP here.